Reviews

The expression of a catastrophe

Silvère Jarrosson’s work adds an apocalyptic dimension to the known world. He offers us an universe in which all language is abolished, but in which the animated and moving part of soul, the humming of interstices, and the breathing voids still reign: without which life would give up its legendary component. That is why this art should be viewed as an organic, slow-moving adventure—starring the mythical time that lies within us unbeknownst to us, and kindles our emotions.

Next »

Writing in spurts

Despite having emerged practically at the beginning of the twentieth century, abstract painting’s journey is still very much ongoing. This is underpinned by its influence on the younger generation—despite the temptations on offer from the digital world, and other transient artistic scenes.
Silvère Jarrosson’s choices, training, and natural affinities all designate him for inclusion in the category of younger artists who know there is more to be learned from the unknown than from the self-evident. Yet while his compositions never strive to equate the visible world, they are underpinned by a specific reality, clearly impacted by very worldly tribulations.

Next »

Reading chaos

Some will speak of Silvère’s painting as “abstract”—as opposed, presumably, to figurative. But it is very down to earth, very rooted in matter. Silvère’s painting is a painting of exploration, that embraces the cosmos, thought and the mystery of the unspeakable. It is constantly evolving, feeding on all sorts of biological phenomena, both physical and dreamlike, through which it pursues its own trajectory. The seven successive series of his work, from “Rythmes vitaux” to “Élégies”, are the best way to take the measure of its diversity.

Next »

An abstract painter in the 3.0 age

Silvère Jarrosson embarked on a painting career in answer to a calling that witnessed him suddenly realising “that’s what I want to do!”, as he discovered a friend’s pictorial work. What, Painting? Yes, painting. Nothing at the outset destined him to become a painter. He had trodden an entirely different path—being destined to become an étoile dancer When he had to face the impossibility of continuing in that direction, he started reading biology as an undergraduate. That was when he discovered painting as a vocation. From that point onwards, he put himself to work, fired by a boundless passion, and never strayed from his chosen path. He became what he had at that moment understood to be, painter.

Next »

L’amnion du temps

Silvère Jarrosson’s third exhibition at Galerie Hors-Champs showcases the latest trends on which his previous experience so soundly prepared him to embark. Shapes—abstract, mineral and reptilian, celestial and granular—morph yet further in a never-ending set of variations and shades, a body under construction, continuing unbroken where his previous work left off.
One wonders whether this body is ‘growing’, since he refuses to put names on what his work could potentially represent: in any event, it is constantly evolving. The technique is the same: before the dripping process, Silvère Jarrosson prepares his canvas according to a process pretty akin, according to him, to subduction […]

Next »

Gnomish art

Silvère Jarrosson invents a torsion-filled universe. This is due, above all, to the technique used by the artist: he slides a coat of white paint under a coat of coloured paint, and the latter deforms the former, through something very much akin to telluric motion. Various matters joust against one another in a magmatic substance, yet they never merge; the relief impressed on the artist’s paintings is quasi-metallic. Bodies appear to creep along, without their true significance being discernible, since everything seems to become shapeless and glistening. Acrylic paint is the raw foundation of this action painting process, which harkours back to the prehistories of chemistry, as well as to post-modern experiments where the image seems virtual.

Next »

Giving birth to chance

This is the story of a boy who draws.
Who once said to his parents: “I would like to dance.”
As he was gifted for Ballet, the boy enters the Opéra de Paris.
But repeating his first role as soloist – this feast of flowers in Genzano that Nureyev interpreted – he is seriously injured.
It is the story of a dancer who suffers in silence.
A wounded boy who goes up on stage, and wakes up in an emergencies room.
Generalized infection: pretty close to death.
Real births are renaissances.
Silvère Jarrosson saw the day at eighteen, with an idea in mind: painting.

Next »

The birth of chaos

For his first monographic exhibition, “In Utero”, Silvère Jarrosson consolidates his pictorial universe, which becomes a psychic cartography. It turns out to be a unique visual journey, a half-way house between a geological exploration and looking though a microscope.
WHile the map is well drawn, the territory is still undefined, and deliberately so. That is because this territory enjoys shirking, as the painting frees itself from the clutches of Jarrosson’s suspended brush, moving in a panel of evocations uniting opposites (the infinitely large versus the infinitely small, but also the carnal versus the inert), leading them in quite another direction.

Next »

Pictorial cartography

Silvère Jarrosson’s work involves a quite remarkable pictorial journey, in which abstraction is torn apart by turbulent projections. The artist uses pollockian dripping, releasing the capillarity of the acrylic paint he uses to develop his colourful turbulence.
Production breaks forcefully free of traditional pictorial abstraction, and gives birth to a form of non-figurative art—a celebration of spontaneous movement.

Next »

An enigmatic presence

The abstract flows in Silvère Jarrosson’s paintings are a magma of melanin, hallucinated variations of carnal forms, akin to geographical maps or satellite imagery, or even the workings of a microscope. The minuscule mixes with the infinitely big, cells with the stars.

Movement is created by contradiction: without it everything remains frozen, permanent. Unifying of opposites? Acrylic emotion—that of the unexpected—sneaks onto the canvas and impresses its paths as if it had a life of its own—a special intention for which Jarrosson serves as guide (or, perhaps, by which he is guides?) through a journey of gesture and dosage.

Next »

In or out?

Space defines a place in which a new, changing, visible and invisible life is created. In the work of Silvère Jarrosson, the main space is defined as a choreography—a tribute to his years as a dancer at the Opera and to his university training—each implementing precise, “aerial” and spontaneous movements. Each splash of matter lands in the right place on the canvas. The pictorial material rattles about, erecting a world niether in nor out. It aims to create a new nature. The visible, through pictorial flesh seeks to reach and to hang out the bundaries of the invisible, of the imaginary and of human unconsciousness. The matter dances, vibrates ,and the spectator creates his own space with his anxieties, his joys, and his desires,

Next »

A Vertigo

The paintings of Silvère Jarrosson offer a personal and ambiguous soul-questioning statement. One that dance can both carry and convey: exaltation, suffering, madness, precision…

Far from a frozen representation, the narrative of these works is lived within a precise time frame—that which is necessary to move. If the sensation is, by definition, immediate, expressiveness, on the other hand, unfolds here in a time frame specific to each artwork. Each can thus be looked at like a narrative (visual just as much as musical or corporeal). The composition is much more than a mere visual journey. It is the frame of an unravelling narrative. Open narrative, with he edge of the canvases offering a trailing edge towards which the imaginary can unfold.

Next »

Critiques

L’expression d’une catastrophe

Le travail de Silvère Jarrosson ajoute au monde connu sa dimension apocalyptique. Il montre un univers où tous les langages sont abolis, mais dans lequel règnent encore la part animée et mouvante de l’âme, le fredonnement des interstices, la respiration des vides : sans cela, l’être renoncerait à sa part légendaire. C’est pourquoi cet art se regarde comme une aventure organique et lente de ce temps mythique présent en nous, à notre insu, et qui rejaillit dans nos émotions.

Suite »

Une écriture du jaillissement

Née pratiquement à l’orée du vingtième siècle, la peinture abstraite est loin d’avoir achevé sa course. Son influence auprès des jeunes générations, à compter de divers postulats, témoigne de sa pérennité, en dépit des sollicitations du numérique et autres scénographies éphémères.
Par ses choix, sa formation, ses affinités naturelles, son histoire personnelle, sa fibre spirituelle, Silvère Jarrosson appartient à ce quantum de jeunes artistes qui savent qu’il y a plus à découvrir dans le non-connu que dans l’évidence. Mais bien que ses compositions ne soient jamais des équivalences du visible, il en émane une réalité spécifique, où le poids du monde résonne intensément.

Suite »

À la lecture du chaos

D’aucuns parleront de la peinture de Silvère comme « abstraite », par opposition au figuratif, sans doute. Mais elle est très concrète, très ancrée dans la matière. La peinture de Silvère est une peinture de l’exploration qui embrasse le cosmos, la pensée et le mystère de l’indicible. Peinture en évolution perpétuelle, elle se nourrit de toute sorte de phénomènes biologiques, physiques et oniriques, grâce auxquelles elle trace sa propre trajectoire. C’est en suivant les sept séries de l’œuvre, de « Rythmes vitaux » à « Élégies », qu’on découvrira sa diversité.

Suite »

Un peintre abstrait à l’époque du 3.0

Silvère Jarrosson est entré en peinture pour répondre à un appel impérieux qui s’est manifesté à lui à travers un : « c’est cela que je veux faire ! », alors qu’il découvrait le travail pictural d’un ami. Quoi, cela ? La peinture ! Rien au départ ne le destinait à devenir peintre. Son parcours avait été tout autre, puisqu’il devait devenir danseur étoile. Confronté à l’impossibilité de poursuivre dans cette voie, il fit des études de biologie et découvrit la pratique de l’art à cette époque. Dès lors, avec une passion sans limites, il s’est mis au travail et n’a plus dévié du chemin qui s’est ouvert devant lui. Il est devenu ce qu’il avait à cet instant compris devoir être, peintre.

Suite »

Entrée en mouvement

Les attitudes que nous adoptons face au mouvement peuvent varier. Si, d’un côté, nous pouvons ne pas apercevoir un mouvement, nous pouvons aussi choisir de l’ignorer. Nous pouvons nous laisser entraîner par un mouvement puis attendre avec soulagement qu’enfin il cesse. Il existe dans la physique plusieurs types de mouvement tels que les mouvements brownien, mécanique, variable ou réactif, le mouvement de la chaleur ou le mouvement invariable. Il est possible de transposer et appliquer à l’art une partie de tous ces mouvements. En fait, dans son expression classique, l’art visuel est statique et c’est l’imagination du spectateur qui y génère le mouvement.

Suite »

L’amnios du temps

La troisième exposition de Silvère Jarrosson à la Galerie Hors-Champs présente les nouvelles recherches picturales nées de son univers déjà bien affirmé. Les formes abstraites, minérales et reptiliennes, célestes et granuleuses, poursuivent leur évolution par une multitude de variations, de nuances, qui se révèlent comme un prolongement de ses dernières séries, comme un même corps en devenir.
On ne saurait dire si ce corps « grandit », puisqu’il se refuse toujours à nommer ce qu’il pourrait figurer : il mute, en tout cas. La technique est la même : avant le dripping, Silvère Jarrosson prépare sa peinture selon un procédé qu’il rapproche de la subduction […]

Suite »

La pein­ture gnomique​

Silvère Jar­rosson invente un uni­vers tout en tor­sions. Cela tient d’abord à la tech­nique employée par l’artiste : glis­sant une couche de pein­ture blanche sous une couche de pein­ture colo­rée, celle-ci la déforme par ce qui s’apparente à un mou­ve­ment tel­lu­rique. Les matières se jouxtent sans fusion­ner dans un magma ; l’artiste donne à la pein­ture l’impression de reliefs quasi métal­liques. Des corps semblent ram­per sans pour autant qu’on puisse en signi­fier la vraie nature puisque tout semble deve­nir presque infor­mel et moiré. L’acrylique reste la matière pre­mière de cet action pain­ting qui peut rame­ner autant à la pré­his­toires de la chi­mie qu’à des expé­riences post­mo­dernes là où l’image semble virtuelle.

Suite »

Pour faire éclore le hasard

C’est l’histoire d’un garçon qui dessine.
Qui dit un jour à ses parents : « Je voudrais danser. »
Doué pour le ballet, le garçon entre à l’Opéra de Paris.
Mais répétant son premier rôle de soliste – cette Fête des fleurs à Genzano qu’interpréta Noureev –, il se blesse gravement.
C’est l’histoire d’un danseur qui souffre en silence.
D’un blessé qui monte sur scène, et se réveille dans un service de réanimation.
Infection généralisée : on frôle la mort.
Les vraies naissances sont des renaissances.
Silvère Jarrosson voit le jour à dix-huit ans, avec une idée en tête : peindre.

Suite »

La naissance du chaos

Pour sa première exposition monographique, « In Utero », Silvère Jarrosson prolonge l’édification de son univers pictural comme une cartographie psychique, et en atteste la singularité dans ses voyages visuels, entre l’exploration géologique et la vision microscopique.
Si la carte est bien tracée, le territoire, lui, est encore indéfini, et compte bien le rester. C’est que ce territoire se plaît à se dérober, comme la peinture se dérobe du pinceau suspendu de Jarrosson, à se mouvoir dans un panel d’évocations unissant les opposés (l’infiniment grand et l’infiniment petit mais aussi le charnel et l’inerte) pour les diriger vers autre chose.

Suite »

Cartographie picturale

L’œuvre de Silvère Jarrosson se déploie en une remarquable sismique picturale où l’abstraction se déchire par saillies mouvementées. L’artiste use du dripping pollockien et laisse émerger la capillarité de l’acrylique qu’il travaille pour développer ses turbulences colorées.
La production s’émancipe avec force de l’abstraction picturale traditionnelle, et donne naissance à un art non-figuratif célébrant le mouvement spontané.

Suite »

Une présence énigmatique

Les écoulements abstraits de la peinture de Silvère Jarrosson, magma de mélanine, variations hallucinées de formes charnelles, semblent des cartes géographiques ou une imagerie satellitaire, quand ce n’est pas microscopique. Le minuscule se mêle à l’immense, les cellules aux étoiles.

C’est par la contradiction que le mouvement se créé, sans elle tout demeure figé, permanent. Le lien unificateur des opposés ? L’émotion, celle de l’inattendu, de l’acrylique qui se faufile sur la toile et élabore ses chemins comme si elle avait une vie propre, une intention particulière que Jarrosson guide (ou serait-ce elle qui le guide?) à travers gestuelle et dosage.

Suite »

Un vertige

Les toiles de Silvère Jarrosson offrent un panel personnel et ambigu des états d’âme que la danse peut porter et transmettre : exaltation, souffrance, folie, précision…

Loin d’une représentation figée, le récit de ces œuvres se vit dans un certain temps, celui nécessaire pour se mouvoir. Si la sensation est immédiate par définition, l’expressivité, par contre, se déploie ici en un temps propre à chaque œuvre. Chacune peut donc se regarder comme une narration (visuelle autant que musicale ou corporelle). Plus qu’une promenade du regard, la composition est la trame d’un récit qui se parcourt. Récit ouvert, le bord des toiles offrant un bord de fuite vers lequel l’imaginaire peut se déployer.

Suite »