Résidence au Château de l’Esparrou

A meeting with Les amis de l’Esparrou resulted in Silvère Jarrosson being invited for a residence in France’s Pyrénées-Orientales, to work on performance with violinist Théotime Langlois de Swarte, offering an intimate combination of painting and music.

Bach’s Partitas were chosen for this project, owing to their compositional fluidity and complexity , allowing Théotime to play outstanding ly, and Silvère to use a wide rhythmical range. One passage, in particular, in the Caconne, offered an eloquent illustration of the painter’s gestures and was the starting point foe the two artists’ work together.

The performance took place at Palais des rois de Majorque at Perpignan on 18 October 2020. The canvas on display at the concert provided a constantly-evolving picture, with the two participants following and accompanying one another:

  • allemande:the artists find their place;

  • courante: The painting, overtaking the music, is exalted;

  • chaconne: violin virtuoso performance;

  • Bach’s music sets the canvas vibrating.

Final chords from Théotime’s violin. Silvère completes his canvas. The painting, meanwhile, goes on for a short while. It is still moving, though slowing down and stabilizing. Time is about to depart from it. One is, perhaps, witnessing a slow-time photography session, a mobile image slowly transitioning to immobility. These meanders will shortly be fossils: images of an instant life, settling in to something approaching eternity. The artwork’s time frame goes askew; synchronisation is lost, in order to separate its existence from ours. It is a form of amniotic time.

Résidence au Château de l’Esparrou

De la rencontre avec l’association Les amis de l’Esparrou est née l’idée d’inviter Silvère Jarrosson en résidence dans les Pyrénées-Orientales pour travailler sur un projet de performance en compagnie du violoniste Théotime Langlois de Swarte, qui permette de mêler intimement peinture et musique.

Les Partitas de Bach sont choisies pour ce projet, pour la fluidité et la complexité de la composition qui permettent à Théotime d’exceller dans son jeu et à Silvère d’utiliser une grande variété de rythmes. Un passage en particulier de la Chaconne évoque de façon particulièrement éloquente la gestuelle du peintre et sert de point de départ au travail des deux artistes.

La restitution de ce travail a lieu le 18 octobre 2020 au Palais des Rois de Majorque de Perpignan. Un concert que l’on voit se transformer au fil de la toile, et où les deux protagonistes se suivent et s’accompagnent :

  • l’allemande : on prend ses marques, et on place ses repères ;

  • la courante : exhaltation d’une peinture qui va plus vite que que la musique ;

  • la chaconne : délire virtuose du violoniste ;

  • et la musique de Bach qui fait vibrer la toile, tout simplement.

Derniers accords de violon de Théotime. Silvère termine sa toile. La peinture, elle, continue quelques instants. Elle bouge encore mais ralentit, elle se fige. Le temps est sur le point de la quitter. Peut-être est-on en train d’assister à une lente photographie, le passage progressif du mobile à l’immobile. Ces méandres seront bientôt des fossiles : l’image d’une vie instantanée, installée dans une durée proche de l’éternel. Le temps de cette œuvre prend la tangente ; la synchronisation se perd pour que s’achève la séparation de son existence et de la nôtre. Elle est dans l’amnios du temps.